Won't you feel disturbed if we say, " You don't know yourself." Yes, you will. But according to Ayurvedic point of view, that might be true. How is that so? You can get a clear answer to this question after reading this page. We are sure that after reading this you will know yourself better or at least you will be having a desire to know yourself. Thus by knowing yourself better, you will be able to take good care of your health.

Knowledge of personal Ayurvedic constitution is very important in the treatment of a disease. According to Ayurveda the body comprises of three primary life-forces which in the Ayurvedic terminology are called doshas. Because they are three in number, they are generally termed as Tridosha. These three doshas are vata, pitta and kapha. To have a better understanding they can be compared to air, fire and water respectively. These doshas are spread all over the body and regulate the functioning of every tissue cell by being present in each one of them. They are responsible for the psycho-physical nature of the individual.

This psycho-physical nature of the individual is known as prakriti or constitution. Though each one of us have all the three doshas, the proportion varies. The constitution of the individual is decided by the predominant dosha. For example a person who has vata as the predominant dosha is generally tall and thin, has poor memory, is fearful ,anxious, nervous, has dry skin and low weak voice, has variable appetite and likes travelling.

These three doshas come from the parents through the sperm and ovum and remain in the living body from the time of conception till the end of life. When a sperm and ovum unite in the uterus of a mother to form zygote, the doshas predominant in the sperm, ovum and the uterus decide the constitution of the individual. The predominant dosha can be one of the three, two combined together or all the three in a balanced form, thus forming seven types of constitutions mentioned below.

If the doshas are in a state of equilibrium it gives rise to a healthy foetus and the child born leads a healthy life. If the doshas are in a disturbed state it may prevent conception or result in undergrowth of the zygote or other malformations. The diet, living style and activities of mother during pregnancy are also responsible in the formation of one's constitution.

Depending upon the predominance of dosha there are seven types of Ayurvedic constitution.

  1. Vata
  2. Pitta
  3. Kapha
  4. Vata-pitta
  5. Vata-kapha
  6. Pitta-kapha
  7. Vata-pitta-kapha.- This is the best type of constitution but is very rare.

The knowledge of our constitution helps in the treatment of diseases too. For instance a kapha type person can more easily tolerate medicine which is hot in nature than a pitta (fire) type because pitta type already has lot of heat in his body. So an Ayurvedic physician always checks for the constitution of the patient before prescribing medicine. In this way he can avoid many side-effects while treating the patient.

To assess your constitution contact us through the online consultation.



The roots of Ayurveda                   Principles of Ayurveda

Diseases and Cures           Health Promotion and Preventive Care           The Purification Therapies

Philosophy & Yoga           Ageing and Rejuvenation           Women and Child Care